From September 21, international flights will operate in and out of the country, though land, sea and river borders remain closed for the foreseeable future. In a statement released from the minister of transport, Angela Maria Orozco, said that the United States, Mexico, the Dominican Republic, Brazil, Ecuador, Bolivia and Guatemala will be the first destinations that Colombia will reopen to in terms of air travel; and passengers will be required to present proof of a recent negative coronavirus test result upon arrival. "The entire sector is committed to complying with the biosafety protocols defined so that this operation is carried out safely," stated Ms Orozco.